Twitter Counter : LittleBits and CloudBits

Hi Everyone! I’m just getting started with CloudBits and love it! My current challenge is to make a twitter counter, listening to a specific hashtag.

My goal is to do this :
If there are 10 hashtags, light up 1 light.
If there 20 hashtags, light up 2 lights.

My current code is using IFTTT - if there’s a tweet with specified hashtag, ping CloudBits @ 100% for 1 second.

I’m having trouble though getting the CloudBits to tell Arduino if there are than 2 tweets.

My question, in short :smiley:
Any tips for reliably sending a signal from CloudBits to Arduino, and then incrementally add to a counter?

1 Like

Here’s a related thread : Getting Arduino to talk to CloudBit?

1 Like

I made some headway and got my cloudBits to talk to my arduino :smile:

But I’m not quite sure how to upload .ino code up here…

Still having issues incrementing the counter though. With CloudBits + IFTTT working together, there is a 1 second minimum of “reading tweets” - so how would I increment the counter variable just once, while cloudBits == HIGH.

@JackANDJude - thought you’d appreciate taking a look at this :smile:

Hi, @jakilevy! Thanks for starting this new topic! :slight_smile:

Let’s talk specifics…

What IFTTT twitter trigger are you using? The options I see are:

1. New tweet by you with hashtag - This Trigger fires every time you post a new tweet with a specific hashtag
  2. New tweet from search - This Trigger fires every time a new tweet matches your search query. NOTE: limited to 15 tweets per check.

If you are unsure if your IFTTT recipe is actually firing when there are multiple tweets, try putting an led or buzzer between the cloudBit and Arduino.

If you’re not sure about what is happening with the Arduino, try using another input to simulate the cloudBit while you are coding. What happens when you put a light sensor or a pressure sensor in one of the Arduino’s inputs and hold it down for one second?