Puppeteering - Animating facial features with LittleBits

Hello there! I’m new to LittleBits, and it’s actually my boyfriend who introduced me to it! It was hard for him to convince me how awesome LittleBits could be, but the moment our first Arduino Kit came in via mail, both of us lost our marbles. I never even KNEW the possibilities!!! Why did I ever doubt it?

So now I’m getting VERY excited, because both of us are graphic artist, and I sculpt.
I’m designing a wire frame of a creature I’ve created.

This photo demonstrates my creature with a mutilated jaw, and different angles.

My creature has a total of 4 jaw pieces, 2 top, 2 bottom (basically if you were to split the mouth a second time down the center vertically) and has a fleshy stubby tongue to help it pick up food. My goal is to make everything connected to one unit, hidden in a glove, that’s… Pressure sensitive? I want all 4 jaws to be able to be independent, and controlled manually, as well as the tongue.
The jaws would have simple, almost 2-4 movements each.
The tongue would have at least 4-8 directional movements.

So here’s my question(s) for you guys! :slight_smile:

I know nothing about puppeteering, this will be my first project, so I was hoping a community could give me some ideas of where to start, and point me in the right direction.

What pieces do you recommend would work for this scenario, and what purpose would they serve?
We currently only own the Arduino Kit, and this is our only hands-on experience, so far.
http://littlebits.cc/kits/arduino-coding-kit
The “servo” looks useful, since it moves back and forth.
I think I need a few “buttons”, one for each angle movement?

Speak as simple as you can, as I know very little about electronics, but understand anatomy and art very well. :smile:

Thank you for you time!!

1 Like

Further visual references

1 Like