Need advice on getting started with synth kit

I am just getting started with the LittleBits Synth Kit. My kit arrived yesterday. The components in the actual kit seem to work as expected, but I ordered a few extra modules, some of which don’t seem to work. Here’s a list of what I’ve got and it’s working state:

1. LittleBits Synth Kit (works great)
  2. USB power module (works great)
  3. Microphone input module (works great)
  4. USB audio I/O module (doesn’t seem to work)
  5. MIDI I/O module (doesn’t seem to work)
  6. Arduino module (ordered, hasn’t arrived yet)
  7. Bargraph output module (ordered, hasn’t arrived yet)
  8. Number output module (ordered, hasn’t arrived yet)

Both the MIDI module and the USB audio module come with a female Micro-USB type B port and a male Micro-USB B to male USB type A wire. Most USB devices give a male USB type A plug, so I figured I would be able to plug things in by using a male Micro-USB type B to female USB type A adapter. This hasn’t worked. I tried several devices:

With the USB audio module, I tried plugging in my Blue Snowball USB microphone. The configuration of modules was USB power > USB audio I/O > Speaker. It got power (the red light on the micrphone lit up) but didn’t capture any audio.

With the USB midi module, I tried plugging in my Alesis Vortex Keytar into the USB port on the MIDI module. It didn’t get power initially, so I tried using DC to power it. I know the keytar works because I used it with other USB midi devices to test it. The configuration of modules was: USB power > MIDI I/O > Oscilator > Speaker.