Is it possible to control a w30 ble bit from a custom-made app?

Hi, folks.
I’m a software developer and I’m starting to play with LittleBits now.
And I’m curious, is it possible to connect my own app with the bluetooth (w30 ble) module?
I tried to pair without the LittleBits app, but the ble module keeps refusing the connection.

Cheers

1 Like

Hi @vitalianoneto,
I am not a software developer, but I found something on Github that could be interesting, but I’m not sure… Just take a look…:fearful:

https://github.com/khanning/littlebits-ble-extension

2 Likes

@vitalianoneto I would troubleshoot with CS by emailing support@littleBits.cc if you can’t connect to the official app. They can help out.

If you are using android and having app trouble, try enabling location services/GPS - some phones require that to be on to use the necessary sensors in the phone.

As of right now, I don’t think it’s possible to connect the BLE with a private app. But, hack away if you’d like to (although, it will likely void your warranty).

1 Like

@alexpikkert you are awesome, the link you posted solved my problem! Thank you!

1 Like

Hi Theodore @theodore_littlebits,
Can I brick my Bluetooth BLE bit w30 by experimenting with other software? Just curious, my official Littlebits app is working fine…
:grinning:

Hi Vitaliano @vitalianoneto,
Great to hear you can use it ! :grinning:

I started experimenting with the “app inventor” from MIT(see here) and I was also looking for some tricks to control a w30 BLE bit. They do have programming blocks for bluetooth but I do not really understand them (yet)… the MIT app inventor programming environment looks nearly the same as the Littlebits software used with the new Littlebits code kit…
I did manage to make an app to switch the Arduino MKR1000 ON/OFF via WiFi, I posted it in their gallery, if you want to see it just search there for “mkr1000”.
Can you perhaps give me some hints how to control the w30 bit with the MIT app inventor?