Ask a littleBits engineer

Hello! I’m Sean and I am an engineer at littleBits. If you are having trouble with your Arduino bit you can throw your questions here and I will try to answer them for you as quickly as possible!

Awesome! Thanks for your help! If I don’t resolve this issue I am having with a specific program I am writing, I will definitely contact you before the end of the day! Well I’ll give you the heads up! I am controlling a PC fan with the Arduino Bit from an outside battery source through a Darlignton transistor circuit. I want to use a littleBits button from the wireless receiver to activate analog pin 0 and send an on signal through digital pin 10 to a Darlignton transistor of the PC Fan circuit. I am also using a temperature sensor to turn on the fan when it reaches a certain temperature. Basically, there will be two options to turn on the fan; either automatically through the temperature sensor or manually from an analog input. I programmed the arduino bit to activate the fan through an if statement, but I cannot figure out how to program it to turn on manually through a button connected to a channel of the wireless transmitter. I’ll keep you updated if I cannot accomplish the task. Additionally, can I use the digital Pins as a 5 Volt source and ground?

Such as:
void setup() {
pinMode(11, INPUT_PULLUP); //Activtes the internal input resistors of pin 11, which sets the pin to 5 Volts
pinMode(13, OUTPUT); //Sets Digital pin to Ground
}

Hi Mr. Steam, thank you for posting!

If you are having trouble with the manual button later, please post the portion of your code for the manually activation of your fan so we can have a look at it. I noticed that you said you are using an analog input for the manual control. If you are using that port as a simple high/low detection, you can set that pin to be an input GPIO which simplifies control on that end.